NEQAS/EQA (Histopathology)

Consultant Pathologists belong to the General Pathology NEQAS scheme. The following is a list of schemes subscribed to:

  • Gastrointestinal Pathology EQA Scheme –
  • National Uropathology EQA Scheme –
  • National Bowel Cancer Screening EQA Programme EQA Scheme
  • National Dermatology EQA Scheme –
  • West Midlands Regional Histopathology EQA –
  • National Renal EQA (and Transplant EQA)
  • National GIT EQA
  • National Urology EQA
  • Breast EQA
  • National Gynaecology EQA
  • National Melanoma Club EQA
  • National Lymphoma Club
  • National Thoracic Club
  • Regional Cervical Cytology EQA - All pathologists reporting cervical cytology participate in the Regional Cervical Cytology EQA

The laboratory also belongs to the following Technical NEQAS schemes:

  • UK NEQAS Cellular Pathology Technique – (a) General (b) Renal
  • Bone Marrow Trephine Scheme
  • Mohs scheme
  • UK NEQAS ICC -                General
  • Lymphoma
  • Breast Hormone Receptors
  • HER2 – ICC (Breast + Gastric) and FISH (Breast only)
  • Cytology
  • Lung ALK - Non small cell lung carcinoma
  • Alimentary Tract pathology (GIST)
  • HNPCC – Mismatch repair proteins
  • NSCLC – PD-L1 (Pilot scheme)
  • European Society of Pathology (ESP) - Lung EQA Scheme (ALK1 IHC and FISH).
  • CEQAS Cytogenetic external quality assessment scheme - lymphoma FISH EQA scheme.
  • UK NEQAS Haematology, Leucocyte Immunophenotyping, IgH/TCR Clonality studies.

Any significant technical noncompliances or EQA failures will be reported on this web site. 

  • Created on .
  • Last updated on .

The laboratories at Heartlands Hospital, Good Hope Hospital and Solihull Hospital form part of the services provided by University Hospitals Birmingham and are UKAS (United Kingdom Accreditation Service) accredited to the ISO 15189:2012 standard. For a list of accredited tests and other information please visit the UKAS website using the following link:

  • Heartlands, Good Hope and Solihull Hospital pathology laboratories are a UKAS accredited medical laboratory No.8217
  • United Kingdom Health Security Agency laboratory is a UKAS accredited medical laboratory No.8213

Tests not appearing on the UKAS Schedule of Accreditation currently remain outside of our scope of accreditation. However, these tests have been validated to the same high standard as accredited tests and are performed by the same trained and competent staff.

For further test information, please visit the test database:

Protection of personal information - Laboratory Medicine comply with the Trust Data Protection policy and have procedures in place to allow the Directorate and its employees to comply with the Data Protection act  1998 and associated best practice and guidance.

For further information contact Louise Fallon, Quality Manager, 0121 424 1235